The Southland Honors was started in 2003 by then LALC Chairman Kevin Casey as the Annual Awards Ceremony hosted by the Los Angeles Leather Coalition, to honor leaders and volunteers in our local community. 2018 marks our 15th Anniversary and we are proud to once again open nominations for local members of the community to nominate those individuals who are stellar people, without which LA would not have such a diverse and thriving Leather & BDSM Community.

This year’s celebration will be held at Taix French Restaurant in Silver Lake, and will be hosted by Ms. LA Leather 2017 Lady Scarlett Sin.

Please visit to get all the juicy details, buy your tickets and to place your nominations.

This year’s Award Categories are as follows:

George Wong Person of the Year Award

Which Person (man or woman) has been most active, or been the biggest influence on, or spokesperson for the Southland Leather community in the past year?

Jeff Burnam Community Service Award

This award recognizes those who are of service for altruistic reasons rather than for personal gain or publicity. These folks work quietly and consistently in the background to make community groups, events and services succeed. Consider the individual’s follow through as well as their intentions when nominating for this award. Those who are at the event first and leave last, or those who are nearly always there without being asked to lend a hand are good candidates for this award.

TNG Award – The Next Generation

This award recognizes individuals 35 or under at the time of nomination who stand out from the rest of the pack. They are present, visible, active, and willing participants in their communities.

Club or Organization of the Year

What Club, Organization or Group has been the most visible, active or influential in the past year?

Business (or Business Person) of the Year

What Business has been the most visible, active or influential in the past year

Event of the Year

What event was the most fun, groundbreaking, interesting or significant in the past year?

The Southland Honors Cultural Arts Award

New for 2015! This award is given to the person or collective who has expressed them self and our community through the arts. In one of many forms such as plays, photographs, poetry, performance art, mixed media and more. This person or collective transcend the fundamentals of leather and kink in a cause to enlighten the mainstream.

Chairman’s Award(s)

Not publicly nominated, but given at the discretion of the LALC Chair.




  • George Wong Person of the Year:  Nicholas Oliver
  • Jeff Burnam Community Service:  Vince Peña
  • Business of the Year:  Rough Trade Gear
  • Organization of the Year:  ONYX Southwest
  • Event of the Year:  Ms. LA Leather Weekend
  • The Next Generation Award:  Daniel Soto
  • Cultural Arts Award:  Durk Dehner
  • Community Choice Woman:  Mistress Cyan
  • Community Choice Man:  Matthew Jensen