11th Annual Southland Honors Awards Nominations Now Open

posted in: LALC News | 0

The Los Angeles Leather Coalition is happy to announce that the nomination period for The 11th Annual Southland Awards is now open from February 1 – February 28, 2014. Nominations can be made at laleatherpride.com by clicking on “The Southland Honors” link from the Leather Pride Week Menu. New this year, nominations can also be made from the LA Leather Pride Mobile App!

Make a Nomination

The Southland Honors awards were created to nurture an attitude of integrity and community pride, preserve leather community tradition, and to recognize community service. Six awards are given based on nominations from the community

George Wong Person of the Year Award
Which Person (man or woman) has been most active, or been the biggest influence on, or spokesperson for the Southland Leather community in the past year?

Jeff Burnam Community Service Award
This award recognizes those who are of service for altruistic reasons rather than for personal gain or publicity. These folks work quietly and consistently in the background to make community groups, events and services succeed. Consider the individual’s follow through as well as their intentions when nominating for this award. Those who are at the event first and leave last, or those who are nearly always there without being asked to lend a hand are good candidates for this award.

TNG Award – The Next Generation
This award recognizes individuals 35 or under at the time of nomination who stand out from the rest of the pack. They are present, visible, active, and willing participants in their communities.

Club or Organization of the Year
What Club, Organization or Group has been the most visible, active or influential in the past year?

Business (or Business Person) of the Year
What Business has been the most visible, active or influential in the past year?

Event of the Year
What event was the most fun, groundbreaking, interesting or significant in the past year?

Additionally, one or more Chairman’s Awards are generally given out each year by the Los Angeles Leather Coalition Chair.

Selection Process: For the awards listed above (except Chairman’s Award), winners are chosen by the 2014 SH Selection Committee, consisting of: LALC Board Members & Community Partners, and the winners from the prior year. Bio information for nominees will be compiled and edited before being presented to the Selection Committee.

2013 Southland Honors Recipients
George Wong Person of the Year – Marlon Morales
Business of the Year – The Bullet Bar
Club of the Year – LOBOC MC
Event of the Year – Palm Springs Leather Pride
Jeff Burnam Community Service – Riley Black
TNG – Zac Rigo
Chairman’s Awards – Brent Sweer & Leo Iriarte

The 2014 Southland Honors Awards will be given out on Sunday 30 March, 2014 at Pistons Bar in Long Beach, CA immediately following the Mr. LA Leather Victory Brunch. Tickets for the brunch and awards are included in all 3 package levels for LA Leather Pride. Single event tickets will be available for $30 in mid February, but space is limited for this event and is expected to sell out.